Qt Tutorial

I have been a fan of the Qt cross-platform toolkit ever since I first used it in 1999. While I have never developed Qt applications professionally, it has been my go-to UI framework for personal projects over the years. The fact that Qt is fully supported on QNX is a nice bonus, and I have used it extensively in my desktop, and, most recently, in the treadmill project.

Now that my son is learning C++ in school, I thought it would be a good opportunity to introduce him to Qt. I started C++ programming with UI frameworks (Borland OWL and MFC). A graphical user interface toolkit lends itself quite nicely to object-oriented design, while also providing instant, visible results. This has always seemed to me to be a much better way to understand OOD than abstract examples.

Looking at the available tutorials, I was unable to find one that I really liked. They all seemed to be skipping over the basics. I decided instead to write my own, with an emphasis on simplicity and thoroughness. The tutorial takes baby steps, while explaining how things work at each of these steps.

The source code for the tutorial, both for the text and the examples, is available in this GitLab project. You can also just grab the PDF version.

Leave a comment